Skip to content
R&D TaxPartners
Book a call

Research

R&D tax relief statistics: what HMRC's latest figures show

HMRC's September 2026 figures: £8.2bn of R&D relief in 2024/25, 40,325 claims, plus sector, region, claim size and error rate data in one place.

HMRC's latest statistics show that companies claimed an estimated £8.2 billion of R&D tax relief in the 2024 to 2025 financial year, up 5% on the year before, even though the number of claims fell 17% to 40,325. The relief now comes mostly through the merged scheme, which is why the headline figures moved so much. Fewer, larger claims account for most of the money, and HMRC's estimate of error and fraud has fallen sharply since its compliance push began.

This article pulls the main figures into one place and says where each comes from. Everything below is taken from HMRC publications. Where we have done our own arithmetic, we say so.

The headline numbers

HMRC published Research and Development Tax Credits Statistics on 29 September 2026. The figures are provisional and cover accounting periods ending in the 2024 to 2025 financial year.

Measure2024 to 2025Change on previous year
Total relief claimed£8.2 billion+5%
R&D expenditure supported£51.0 billion+7%
Total claims40,325-17%
Average claim valueNot stated in pounds+27%

Source: HMRC, Research and Development Tax Credits Statistics: September 2026, published 29 September 2026. Figures are provisional and rounded to the nearest 5 or £5 million.

For context, HMRC's September 2025 edition put relief for 2023 to 2024 at £7.6 billion. The 2026 edition shows the same year as £7.8 billion, so earlier years are revised as more returns arrive. The next edition is planned for autumn 2027.

SME versus RDEC: the scheme change

The 2024 to 2025 figures are the first to include the merged scheme and Enhanced R&D Intensive Support (ERIS), which apply to accounting periods starting on or after 1 April 2024. That makes SME and RDEC comparisons with earlier years unreliable.

Scheme groupReliefChangeClaimsChange
SME and ERIS schemes£2.3 billion-29%24,570-36%
RDEC and merged scheme£5.9 billion+29%15,760+50%

Source: HMRC, September 2026. Components may not sum to totals because of rounding.

HMRC says about 91% of merged scheme claims came from SMEs, which explains most of the shift. By company size, large companies received £4.6 billion of relief and SMEs £3.6 billion. Across all SME claims, including those under the merged scheme, the count fell by 19%, while large-company claims under RDEC and the merged scheme rose 4% to 3,800.

If you want to see how the two routes work, read our pages on the merged scheme and ERIS.

Who claims: by sector and region

Three sectors dominate. HMRC's figures for 2024 to 2025 are:

SectorShare of claimsShare of relief
Manufacturing27%27%
Information and Communication27%20%
Professional, Scientific and Technical20%24%

Source: HMRC, September 2026.

Together these made up 75% of claims and 71% of value. Since 2021 to 2022, claims have fallen in every sector. Five smaller sectors fell by more than 75%: Accommodation and Food, Real Estate, Education, Wholesale and Retail Trade and Repairs, and Health and Social Work.

By registered office, the leading regions are:

RegionShare of claimsShare of relief
London24%30%
South East15%19%
East of England10%14%

Source: HMRC, September 2026. A registered office may not match where the R&D takes place.

Claim size: a few large claims carry the relief

Claims of £500,000 and above were 6% of claims but 69% of relief value in 2024 to 2025, up from 62% of value in 2023 to 2024. Claims of up to £50,000 were 58% of claims and only 6% of value. Claims over £2 million rose by 14% in number and 21% in value.

On our arithmetic, £8.2 billion across 40,325 claims is roughly £200,000 a claim. That is not an HMRC figure, and because of the skew above, a typical small company claim is far lower.

First-time claimants

HMRC reports first-time applicants only up to 2023 to 2024, because 2024 to 2025 data is partial. Overall first-time applicants fell 43% in 2023 to 2024, the fifth annual fall in a row. SME scheme first-time applicants were 3,405, down 53%. RDEC scheme first-time applicants were 1,845, down 8%.

Error, fraud and compliance

The statistics publication does not include error and fraud estimates. They come from HMRC's annual reports and its "approach to R&D tax reliefs" publication.

YearOverall error and fraud rateSMERDEC
2020 to 202116.7%24.4%3.6%
2021 to 202217.6%25.8%4.6%
2022 to 202313.3%19.5%1.7%
2023 to 20247.8%14.6%2.8%

Source: HMRC, Approach to research and development tax reliefs 2023 to 2024, published 30 October 2024. The 2022 to 2023 and 2023 to 2024 figures are described as illustrative.

The same October 2024 publication reports the scale of enforcement in 2023 to 2024:

  • 9,700 compliance checks, up from 8,300.
  • 17% of claims checked, up from 10%.
  • 77% of checks led to an adjustment.
  • £441 million identified as incorrectly claimed, up from £288 million.
  • 246 days on average to complete a check.
  • 64% of the value of first-time claims for 2021 to 2022 was non-compliant.

What the figures mean for claimants

The pattern is clear. HMRC is paying out about the same amount in total, but to fewer companies, and it is checking far more of what it receives. The drop in speculative claims, and the fall in the estimated error rate, point the same way.

For a company with genuine R&D, none of this changes the entitlement. It raises the bar on evidence. We prepare every claim to our claim standard, and if HMRC does write to you, our HMRC enquiry defence service picks it up. To estimate what a claim could be worth, use the R&D benefit calculator.

Sources and limits

  • HMRC, Research and Development Tax Credits Statistics: September 2026 (29 September 2026), at gov.uk/government/statistics/corporate-tax-research-and-development-tax-credit.
  • HMRC, Research and Development Tax Credits Statistics: September 2025, for the 2023 to 2024 figure of £7.6 billion.
  • HMRC, Approach to research and development tax reliefs 2023 to 2024 (30 October 2024), for compliance and error figures.

All 2024 to 2025 figures are provisional, rounded and subject to revision. This article is general information, not advice.

Talk to us

If you would like to know how these trends affect your own claim, book a call. We reply the same working day.

FAQs

Frequently asked questions

How much R&D tax relief was claimed in 2024/25?

HMRC's provisional estimate is £8.2 billion of relief, up 5% on the previous year, supporting £51.0 billion of R&D expenditure. The figures were published on 29 September 2026 and cover accounting periods ending in the 2024 to 2025 financial year. They are provisional and will be revised.

How many R&D tax relief claims were made in 2024/25?

HMRC estimates 40,325 claims, a fall of 17% on the previous year. Claims by SMEs fell by an estimated 19%, while claims by large companies rose by an estimated 4%. HMRC rounds its figures to the nearest 5, so components may not sum exactly.

What is the average R&D claim worth?

HMRC says the average claim value rose by 27% in 2024/25. HMRC does not state the average in pounds in the commentary we reviewed. Dividing £8.2 billion by 40,325 claims gives roughly £200,000, but that is our own arithmetic and the average is heavily skewed by a small number of large claims.

Which sectors claim the most R&D relief?

Manufacturing, Information and Communication, and Professional, Scientific and Technical activities together made up 75% of claims and 71% of relief value in 2024/25. Manufacturing accounted for 27% of claims and 27% of value. Information and Communication had 27% of claims but 20% of value.

Which regions claim the most?

By registered office, London had 24% of claims and 30% of relief value, the South East 15% and 19%, and the East of England 10% and 14%. HMRC notes that a registered office may not be where the R&D takes place, so the regional split is a guide only.

How much of the relief goes to large claims?

Claims of £500,000 and above made up 6% of claims but 69% of relief value in 2024/25, up from 62% of value the year before. Claims of up to £50,000 were 58% of claims but only 6% of value.

What is the error and fraud rate in R&D tax relief?

HMRC's published estimate for 2023/24 was 7.8% overall in October 2024, down from 13.3% in 2022/23 and 17.6% in 2021/22. HMRC revises these estimates as more data comes in.

Do these statistics tell me whether my claim is likely to be checked?

No. They are totals for the whole population of claims. HMRC's own figures for 2023/24 show it checked 17% of claims, so a check is not unusual, but the risk for any single claim depends on its projects, costs and evidence. A claim prepared to a clear standard is the best protection.

Talk to an R&D tax specialist.

A confidential first conversation about your claim or your HMRC enquiry. We reply the same working day.

Or write to taxadvisory@aswatax.co.uk

Chartered Tax Adviser
Message us on WhatsApp (opens in a new tab)